Criminal Attorney Columbus Ohio

Even as you face a felony charge in Ohio, you still have rights – and all it takes to best assert them is having the proper criminal defense attorney at your side. Serving Columbus, Franklin County, and the entire Ohio State, The Rutan Law Firm provides you with the necessary legal assistance to defend the criminal charges leveled against you. Whether it involves a DUI or an OMVI offense, a drug-related charge or a graver felony, a criminal accusation will make a serious impact on your person and reputation.


Schedule Your Consultation



    DUI Penalties & Punishment

    DUI PENALTIES AND PUNISHMENT in Ohio

    1st DUI/OVI in six years

    If convicted of this DUI offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 3 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 6 months. Fines can be anywhere from $375 to $1,075. There is a license suspension from 6 months to 3 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 15 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates, and interlock are all optional at the judge’s discretion.

    1st DUI/OVI in six years AND either a high test or refusal

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 6 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 6 months. Fines range from $375 to $1,075. There is a license suspension from 6 months to 3 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 15 days. Restricted plates are required. Court ordered treatment and interlock are optional at the judge’s discretion.

    2nd DUI/OVI in six years

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 10 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 6 months. Fines can be anywhere from $525 to $1,625. There is a mandatory license suspension from 1 to 5 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 45 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates, and interlock are required. Additionally, the vehicle is subject to 90 day immobilization if it is registered in your name.

    2nd DUI/OVI in six years AND either a high test or refusal

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 20 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 6 months. Fines range from $525 to $1,625. There is a mandatory license suspension from 1 to 5 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 45 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates, and interlock are required. Additionally, the vehicle is subject to 90 day immobilization if it is registered in your name.

    3rd DUI/OVI in six years

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 30 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 1 year. Fines range from $850 to $2,750. There is a minimum license suspension of 2 to 10 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for 180 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if it is registered in your name.

    3rd DUI/OVI in six years AND either a high test or refusal

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 60 day jail sentence up to a maximum of 1 year. Fines range from $850 to $2,750. There is a mandatory license suspension of 2 to 10 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for 180 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if it is registered in your name.

    4th or 5th DUI/OVI in six years OR 6th in 20 years

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 60 day jail sentence up to 1 year (or 60 days prison with the option of an additional 6 to 30 months). Fines range from $1,350 to $10,500. There is a mandatory license suspension from 3 years to life and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 3 years. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if it is registered in your name.

    4th or 5th DUI/OVI in six years OR 6th in 20 years AND a high test OR refusal

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 120 day jail sentence up to 1 year (or 120 days prison with the option of an additional 6 to 30 months). Fines range from $1,350 to $10,500. There is a mandatory license suspension from 3 years to life and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 3 years. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if it is registered in your name.

    2nd Felony DUI/OVI lifetime

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 60 days in prison and up to 5 years. Fines range from $1,350 to $10,500. There is a mandatory license suspension from 3 years to life and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 3 years. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if it is registered in your name.

    2nd Felony DUI/OVI lifetime AND a high test OR refusal

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a mandatory minimum 120 days in prison up to 5 years. Fines range from $1,350 to $10,500. There is a mandatory license suspension from 3 years to life and you are not eligible for driving privileges for the first 3 years. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are required. Vehicle forfeiture is required if the vehicle is registered in your name.

    Underage DUI/OVI

    If you are under the age of 21, your legal limit is a BAC of .02 (as opposed to a .08 if you were of legal age to drink alcohol). Like all charges of drunk driving, this charge has serious and long term ramifications on your ability to drive as well as your insurance premiums.

    1st OVI/DUI in 1 year

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a jail term of 0 to 30 days. Fines range from zero to $250. There is a mandatory license suspension of 90 days to 2 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for 60 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates, and interlock are all optional at the judge’s discretion.

    2nd OVI/DUI in 1 year

    If convicted of this offense, you are facing a jail term of 0 to 60 days. Fines range from zero to $500. There is a mandatory license suspension of 1 to 5 years and you are not eligible for driving privileges for 60 days. Court ordered treatment, restricted plates and interlock are all optional at the judge’s discretion.

    Related Articles

    Schedule Your Consultation

    10_award

    get legal consultation:

    614-307-4343

    © 2021 Columbus Criminal Defense Attorney. All Rights Reserved